The Missing Piece Meets the Big O

Maria Popova from Brain Pickings recently featured one of my favourite allegorical tales by Shell Silverstein, entitled “The Missing Piece Meets the Big O”. The first time I read this book, I was an adult. It touched me deeply. I vividly remember that I was in a secondhand bookstore in Downtown Vancouver, and that I picked it up randomly just as I was getting ready to leave the store. I proceeded to read the whole thing. I was very touched by this book, and it’s message has stayed with me ever since. The simply told story, with the simple black and white line drawings, was powerful and unforgettable. I recommend this book to all children and adults alike.

Find the article, along with images from the book, at the following link. And enjoy!

http://www.brainpickings.org/2015/02/12/the-missing-piece-meets-the-big-o-shel-silverstein/

And here is a YouTube video which animates this story!

Leave a Reply

